top of page

Galiosa's Educational Philosophy

What is learning? I defined learning as an act of acquiring new knowledge and even skills. The acquisition of knowledge or skills may be attained through studying, by being taught and even with your own experiences. There's a quote stating that "Experience is the best teacher", we often heard this phrase from someone who believes that an individual are able to learn something if he or she experiences it himself or herself. I remember when I was a child, my mom kept on saying that I shouldn't touch the casserole because it just came off the stove and it is still hot, but as a child who did not listen to her own mother and the idea of "curiosity" seems to circulating on my mind- at the end I touched it and I learned my lesson because of the action that I did. This scenario is just an example that there's still some people out there who seem to be hard headed. Even though there's a certain individual who warns them with regards to a situation that could possibly happen, they will not follow and believe it as they want to experience it on their own. Learning is also accompanied with the word "life-long". In life, the learning we obtain from our parents should not be limited to our house. As well as the learning we acquire from our dear professors should not be limited in our schools only. My point here is that the learnings, knowledge, and even skills we acquire could be used in our daily lives. An individual should not limit himself or herself to learn especially if we are dealing with life lessons. Life lessons are not only considered important for our own growth and development, but it also helps us to become better people who are able to handle the problems and dilemmas that life throws at us. In order to have a successful and engaging learning situation, the teacher and students must work together. What I mean is that, in order for the students to understand each lesson they should also play their duty as an attentive listener. On the other hand, the teacher should also do his or her duty as an instructor to think for a better strategy on how he or she is going to deliver and discuss a certain lesson. A collaborative work plays a vital role in which the students encourage to work with other students to enhance and harness their knowledge and skills, and to improve also their social skills as it helps also to develop their personal growth. As a teacher the mastery of a subject is also important- the confusion in discussion and learnings could be avoided if the teacher is prepared and also master the said subject. "If education is the key to success, then who locked it?" We often heard or read this witty quote spreading throughout the internet. It is ironic on how people are able to think of this kind of phrase, but if we analyze the original quote which is the "Education is the Key to Success’' it may lead us to a realization that if our success in life is somehow depends on our educational attainment, then we should have an effective education system especially here on our country. Teaching may refer to an action of having an engagement with the students in order for them to understand the concept, process, content, etc. Teaching has something to do with the teachers, professors and instructors. Teachers, professors and instructors are responsible for teaching students not just about a certain topic included in our curriculum, but also it is expected from that to somehow encourage students to have a right moral behavior especially there's a lot of school specifically in public schools in which the students have a different origin, perspective, religion and etc. So with that, it is important for the students to have a wide knowledge, respect and learn the idea of acknowledging the differences of one another. As I've said, it is important for a teacher to have a better and suitable teaching strategy whenever he or she is having a proper discussion. As a future Araling Panlipunan educator, it is important for me to gain and think a suitable strategy that will be utilized during the discussion. Different teaching strategies encourage flexible thinking and educate students the value of modifying how they respond to various challenges. Students that utilize teaching strategies become more efficient and effective learners. As we all know, it seems that there's still some students who find Araling Panlipunan as a boring class, due to the fact that there's some topic in this subject regarding the history of a certain country and even just a things that could be connected in the present times we have now. The right and suitable teaching strategy could brings the learning into much more engaging content while enabling learners to actively engage with subject and enhance their knowledge and Skills. As a future educator of 21st century era, I am expecting my students to obtain the skills of applying the idea of collaborative work. As I've said, having an activity in which students has to group themselves enables them to improve their social interaction as well as harness and widen their knowledge as they are able to listen and learn different opinions coming from different people. I do believe in the expression ``Two Heads are Better Than One", where it allows us to realize that people working or thinking in one group are more likely to come up with a great decision than they would if they are working by themselves. Aside from that, I am also expecting my future students to have a basic knowledge with regards to technological advancement which includes different devices such as Smartphone, Computer, Laptop etc. In our generation nowadays, it is not impossible for them to learn the basic process and function of a certain device, that's why it is easy for them to learn and resolve this concern. The goals I set for my students are the following. First, I want my students to first develop the idea of acknowledging the diversity that exists in our world. Next, I also want my student to keep in mind the importance of respect for one another. I think the goal that I badly want my students to learn is that, I want them to deeply understand the lesson that they will be going to discuss, with that they could somehow figure out how they are going to apply the lesson in their everyday lives. Furthermore, as a future Araling Panlipunan educator one of the activity that I think will be suitable if we are going to have a discussion with regards to the history of World War 1 and World War 2 is the "Timeline" or "Graphic Organizer'', I find this activity engaging in which it enables the students to learn the timeline of a certain topic as well as it enhances their creative skills in making graphic organizer. On the other hand, debate is also one of the effective performance that could be utilize to assess the learnings of the students. There's a lot of different teaching philosophies that could be utilized by the instructors, including pragmatism, essentialism, behaviorism, naturalism, progressivism and etc. These different teaching philosophy has a different purpose in which it could be able to utilize by the teachers, that's why teachers are commonly coined as flexible. Teaching philosophy plays a significant role as it guides the teachers teaching strategies and process. As per Sir Macky, it is important for teachers to have their own mask when you are already on a field of teaching. That's why, I created my own teaching philosophy which I entitled as "Productivism". Productivism from the word productive, this is one of the challenges for all the students especially to college students. We can't deny the fact that the technological advancement we have an access to has a pretty much advantage and disadvantage. The time consumed in surfing the internet is much more than the time consumed by studying. That's why the term "Procrastination" is one of the word in which almost all students , especially college students can relate to. Furthermore, with the use of this teaching philosophy, I would like my students to always keep in mind the importance of time. I want my students to let go of the quote "Due tomorrow, Do Tomorrow". I would like to encourage my students to be productive and work efficiently. If you are able to finish and do this certain task today, then why not do it today rather than cramming it in the following days. Having time-management is very important. I think one of the personal characteristics I would like to influence my students is the eagerness to learn. As a future educator, the goals that I have set for myself are, the utilization of technological advancement to the fullest. As a 21st century educator, it is important for the teacher to have not just basic skills and knowledge regarding ICT, but also some knowledge and skills on how to overcome some basic issues like troubleshooting. Aside from that, it is important for a teacher to attend different seminars to enhance, improve and to widen the knowledge. Additionally, continuous collaboration with other networks, and even faculty members to have an engagement that could benefit both of us. Think and create a better teaching strategy that enables the students to become active in your discussion. Discipline is very important in order for me to accomplish these goals. And lastly, it is very important to trust myself that I could overcome the struggles and always remind myself to keep up the fire alives.

3 views0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page