top of page

Ramos' Educational Philosophy

Learning is when a person or student comprehends, understands and grasps information. Learning must be enjoyable and interactive. Students can be taught it's just that they learn in different ways. Always be reminded that in every person or students there are different learning styles. Commonly the students' learning style is VARK; Visual, Auditory, Reading and Kinesthetic. I do also believe that learning must be inclusive. It should be for everyone regardless of their age, social status, race, ethnicity, religion, gender and disability. It embraces diversity. Teaching is a profession, as well as teachers creates other professions. It requires expertise in a specific field. How can a person teach if he/she does not possess a certain skill? Being a teacher means never ending learning in order to educate itself and its students. Professional and Personal qualities of a teacher are important when facilitating the classroom. A teacher must accomplish the call to serve. As a future Araling Panlipunan teacher, one of the expected skills of my students as a result of their learning is that they would develop civic competence. I envisioned them as an active member of the society; that could and would be an agent of change in order to attain the betterment of the society. In addition, one of my goals for my future students is to obtain respect and embrace the diversity of each individual.   I also want my students to develop their critical thinking skills. In teaching there are different approaches, methods, strategies and techniques. The activities, outputs and projects/tasks I will implement in order to attain the goals I set is it depends on the lesson or topic we have. I prefer simulation, the students would enable their skills if they learn by doing. There's this saying “experience is the best teacher” experiencing it personally can be effective in acquiring knowledge. Experience equips learning.  Also self-actualization is important, with that it could help the students to reach and share their potential and skills. Though proper decorum is important inside the classroom; setting a friendly and healthy environment is a must in order to develop their interpersonal skills. Students should have a support system so that they could not be too pressured in learning accumulation. I think being a social butterfly could be my advantage so that my interaction with my students would be at ease and interactive. However it is also important to establish authority in the class, In my own experience during my high school days, if a teacher is unapproachable; I observe that some of the students don’t ask or inquire questions to their teacher because they are afraid that they might embarrass them in front of the class.  Attending to various seminars and webinars are really helpful for  the teachers to enhance, improve and exchange knowledge. CPD Act of 2016 mandated by R.A. 10912 should be realized to ensure that they are competent enough to teach. 


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page